Authorities, Boards and Commissions

Serving on a City of Sandersville Authority, Board or Commission is one way residents of our city can volunteer and get involved with their city government. These bodies compose a formal system through which every day citizens can advise City Council on all major issues affecting the City.

We believe it is not only the right, but the responsibility of interested and capable residents to become engaged in local government. Serving on an Authority, Board or Commission is an excellent way to make a personal contribution to Sandersville's growth and can be a rewarding experience for everyone!
The Authorities, Boards and Commissions in most cases serve mostly in an advisory capacity to the Mayor and City Council on important community-related issues. But some also hear appeals, provide expertise, advocate, receive public concerns, or establish, review and enforce policies and regulations. Authority, Board and commission appointments are approved by City Council after recommendations from the Mayor, Council members and other community residents. In some cases, the city also appoints members of county and regional Authorities, Boards and Committees.

Planning & Zoning Board Sandersville Tree Board Downtown Development Authority Sandersville Housing Authority
Eddie Moye, Chairperson Mary Charles Howard, Chairperson Elaine Burge Calvin Hatcher, Chairperson
Stella Sue Jackson Bob West Lauren Jeffords  Lee Avant, Vice Chairperson

Mike Wiggins

Tony White Chris Kevern  Keith Thomspon
Ben Salter Dave Larson Jason Davis  Sandy Mercer
Carolyn Bloodsaw Derrick Catlett Susan Lewis  Larry Kitchens
Rita Hunt Betty Wise Al Woods  Strick Newsom
Robert James Dianna Armstrong John Harden  
Joe Morris Glenn Newsome    
  Mike Sheppard    
  Jason Alexander